Modulation Coding Scheme/Puncturing Scheme (MCS/PS)

Modulation Coding Scheme/Puncturing Scheme (MCS/PS)

Last updated: November 25, 2010

This section is only applicable to EGPRS when the test set's operating mode is EGPRS BCH, EGPRS BCH + PDTCH or EGPRS BCH + PDTCH + TCH.

Different modulation coding scheme / puncturing scheme (MCS/PS) values can be assigned to each downlink of a multislot burst if the operating mode is set to EGPRS BCH, EGPRS BCH+PDTCH or EGPRS BCH + PDTCH + TCH.

Modulation Coding Scheme / Puncturing Scheme Options

The MCSs are grouped by modulation type. MCS-1 through MCS-4 use GMSK modulation, MCS-5 through MCS-9 use 8PSK modulation, DAS-5 through DAS-9 use 16QAM modulation, while

 DAS-10 through DAS-12 use 32QAM modulation. The differences in data rates within these groups of MCSs is affected by the different modulation types in conjunction with puncturing and coding schemes. 

You may specify a MCS/PS for each downlink burst in a multislot configuration. The following list contains all the MCS/PS available. The GPIB commands to assign separate MCS/PS to individual bursts are CALL:(PDTCH|PDTChannel):MCSCheme:EBPTest[:BURSt1] and CALL:(PDTCH|PDTChannel):MCSCheme:EBPTest:BURSt<2|3|4|5> .

Operating Considerations

In order to assign different modulation coding schemes and puncturing schemes to each burst in a multislot downlink, the operating mode must be set to EGPRS BCH, EGPRS BCH+PDTCH or EGPRS BCT+PDTCH+TCH.

Related Topics

How Do I Assign Different Modulation Coding Schemes / Puncturing Schemes to Each Downlink of a Multislot Burst?



EGPRS Data Rate Configurations

Supported Multislot Classes